Look below for sweet photos of my work, past, present, and in progress. Hit me up with questions. Let me know what you think!
Okay, not really in black, but I’m a classic rock junkie, so deal with it.
Seriously, though, I AM back! The forest is slated to be done today before FNM and most (if not all) of the forests in my larger project should also be complete! Woo-hoo!
As always, stay tuned for progress and updates!
Hello, all! There will be a bit of a hiatus for the next three days. I will be en-route to and from Pittsburgh, PA and, therefore, away from my alters. Not to worry, though!! I haven’t been scheduled to work (at my paying job) until Thursday, so that means a good two days of painting! All projects currently in-progress should be finished by then, so stay tuned!!
altik-0 asked: Just a quick note regarding your recent post discussing legality of extensions: Alters are completely fine so long as the artwork is still easily recognizable to the original (eg, Steve Argyle marker-ing up a Liliana of the Veil doesn't cause any problems, usually), and the name and mana cost are not obscured. Beyond that, it's up to the Head Judge to decide, but those are the metrics specified in the Tournament Rules.
I’m sorry if there was confusion, but yes, that’s what I was trying to say. :) In the end, any/all degrees of alteration are legal at the discretion of the Head Judge, so I do recommend asking before a tournament begins just to be sure. When in doubt, I generally refer to this article:
WOOT! Side-project = COMPLETED!!!
Above are some examples of each style of alteration.
As mentioned previously, there are any number of variations on the above! Of those pictured, only the extension and borderless are DEFINITELY tournament-playable. Full and partial alters ARE NOT (generally speaking) because they obscure the original artwork. Technically the Klug-style alter pictured above is tournament-playable, but that is ONLY because the covered text is flavor text (Click here to see an unaltered Coral Merfolk). Sometimes a judge will allow a player to use a full or partial alter even though that’s technically against the rules.
In case I’ve thoroughly confused you, here are the basic rules for alters:
So there you go! Alteration styles as per me. :)
Today I spent some time looking at Eric Klug’s alters. Once I’d finished crying about my inadequacy, I considered some of the insights he’s posted over time as to his altering process. Here are the differences I noticed:
I don’t like the idea of using primer instead of removing original ink mostly because I feel like it would make the card too thick, but then I saw this:
And also this:
Maybe…….. It’s worth a shot?
Hey, gang! Remember how I said that I was going to finish that side project tonight? HAHAHA. NOPE. Because my coworker decided to quit over the phone and everyone else was “too tired” or “ready for bed,” I have, for the second time in 48 hours, been drafted (forced) to work a double shift.
Pardon my French, but fuck everything. :(
It has been brought to my attention that I have slipped into saying “standard-playable” versus “tournament-playable.” For the record, I don’t limit myself to altering cards as they come into Standard. I went back through some old posts and think I’ve corrected all the issues, but in case I haven’t…. When I say “standard-playable,” I mean that if you play with a card I’ve altered, a judge won’t ask you to find a replacement because of the card’s thickness.*
Speaking of!! I’m getting to work on that side project today, I think, as it shouldn’t take very long. As for my mountains? I’ve got to get to work on some sketching, but there should be an update on that front tomorrow.